How Do Spain's 9 US Consulates Differ on the Digital Nomad Visa?

All 9 Spanish consulates in the US charge Americans $190 and apply the same law (Ley 28/2022). The route differs: Chicago and Boston want your file emailed first, Houston takes mail, Miami takes mail or in-person filing, San Francisco takes walk-ins, and Washington DC's page now sends applicants to BLS.
→ Check which visas you qualify for with our free income calculator
If a forum thread ever made you think "that is not what my consulate says," you were probably right. The visado de residencia para teletrabajo de carácter internacional is one national visa, but each consulate writes its own instructions. Everything below comes from each consulate's page on exteriores.gob.es, checked in September 2026.
For the requirements themselves (income, degree or experience, health insurance), start with our complete Spain Digital Nomad Visa guide. This post is about the part that depends on your ZIP code.
Which Spanish Consulate Covers Your State?
You apply at the consulate that covers the state where you legally live, not the one closest to your favorite airport. Consulates typically ask for proof, such as a state ID or driver's license from a state in their area. Houston asks for a notarized copy.
| Consulate | States and territories |
|---|---|
| Washington DC (Embassy consular section) | DC, Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia, North Carolina |
| New York | New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, Pennsylvania, Delaware |
| Boston | Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont |
| Chicago | Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, Wisconsin |
| Miami | Florida, Georgia, South Carolina |
| Houston | Texas, Alabama, Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Tennessee |
| Los Angeles | Southern California (11 counties), Arizona, Colorado, Utah |
| San Francisco | Northern California, Alaska, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Washington, Wyoming |
| San Juan | Puerto Rico (including Culebra and Vieques), US Virgin Islands |
What if you live in California?
California is the one state split between two consulates, and the split is by county. Los Angeles covers Imperial, Inyo, Kern, Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara and Ventura counties. Every other California county goes to San Francisco. So Bakersfield files in LA, while Fresno, two hours north, files in San Francisco. Geography is a social construct, apparently.
How Do You Submit the Application at Each Consulate?
This is where the nine consulates really differ. The table reflects each consulate's official page as of September 14, 2026.
| Consulate | How the application reaches the consulate | Visa fee payment |
|---|---|---|
| Washington DC | The embassy's telework visa page says that from September 1, 2026, applications are submitted in person, by appointment only, at the BLS Spain Visa Application Center (1660 L St NW) | Cash or money order, per the embassy page |
| New York | Email cog.nuevayork.visnac@maec.es to request an appointment, then submit in person | Not stated on the page |
| Boston | Scan and email the complete file to cog.boston.vis@maec.es; the consulate then schedules an in-person appointment | Not stated on the page |
| Chicago | Scan and email the complete file to cog.chicago.vis@maec.es; the consulate then schedules an in-person appointment | Not stated on the page |
| Miami | In person (applicant or accredited representative), or by postal mail with a tracking number | Money order to the Consulate of Spain in Miami |
| Houston | Mail the application to the consulate, marked "Digital visa application" | Money order to the Consulate of Spain in Houston |
| San Francisco | Walk in Monday to Friday, 9am to 1pm, no appointment, or send it by tracked mail | Cash or money order |
| Los Angeles | In person, with an appointment from the online booking system (cita previa) | Money order to CONSULATE GENERAL OF SPAIN |
| San Juan | In person, with an appointment | Not stated on the page |
A few details that are easy to miss:
Washington DC changed recently. Older guides describe DC as email-first, with no BLS involvement for this visa. The embassy's telework visa page now says applications go to BLS from September 1, 2026. If you are in DC, Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia or North Carolina, follow the embassy's current page over anything written before that date, and book the National Visa section of the BLS appointment system, not the Schengen section. Families can add appointments for accompanying family members in the same booking, and only complete applications are accepted.
Chicago has a required subject line. The format is "APPOINTMENT REQUEST. TELEWORK VISA. Given Name FAMILY NAME. Email Number." Chicago also says not to email until you have every document. A half-finished file just adds a second round of email.
San Francisco returns passports only in a prepaid US Postal Service Express Mail envelope that you provide.
Here's the honest reframe. A consulate that won't book you until your file is complete sounds strict, but it's also the closest thing to a free pre-check you'll get. If they give you a date, you know your file is at least complete.
Do You Need Your NIE Before You Apply?
At most US consulates, yes. Your NIE (Número de Identidad de Extranjero, foreigner identity number) comes first, usually through a separate NIE procedure at the same consulate. A few current pages tell you to request it at the same time as the visa instead.
| NIE timing on the consulate's current page | Consulates |
|---|---|
| Get the NIE before applying for the visa | Washington DC, Boston, Chicago, Miami, Houston, San Francisco |
| Request the NIE at the same time as the visa | Los Angeles, San Juan, New York |
New York is the one to watch. Its current Spanish-language telework visa page says "Es necesario solicitar al mismo tiempo que el visado un NIE" (request the NIE at the same time as the visa). Earlier New York guidance had a separate NIE step first. When you email for your appointment, ask which applies to you. It is a one-line question and it can save you a trip to Manhattan.
San Francisco is the strictest about order. Its page calls the NIE certificate "mandatory to be able to start processing the visa."
Each consulate runs its own NIE process, and the NIE application itself comes in three consulate layouts. Our platform generates the one yours uses.
How Far Back Does Your Criminal Record Check Need to Go?
For US residents, the certificate is the FBI Identity History Summary with a Hague apostille, and most consulate pages say so explicitly. Every page that states a time limit (Washington DC, Boston, Chicago, Miami, Houston and San Francisco) says 6 months before you submit. The lookback period on the page is where they differ: certificates covering 2 years at five consulates and 5 years at the other four. All nine also ask for a sworn declaration of no criminal record covering the last 5 years.
| What the consulate's page asks for | Consulates |
|---|---|
| Certificate(s) covering the last 2 years, plus a sworn declaration of no criminal record for the last 5 years | Washington DC, New York, Miami, Los Angeles, San Juan |
| Certificate(s) covering the last 5 years, plus a sworn declaration of no criminal record for the last 5 years | Boston, Chicago, San Francisco, Houston |
Several of the 5-year pages still quote 2025 or 2024 income figures. That suggests they haven't been updated since Spain's new immigration regulation (Real Decreto 1155/2024) took effect in May 2025. For most Americans the gap matters less than it looks. The FBI summary covers your whole record, not just a slice of years. The window only really matters if you lived in another country during those five years. In that case, applicants at a 5-year consulate typically get that country's certificate too.
Two consulate-specific rules worth knowing:
- New York accepts only FBI certificates. Its page says certificates from local or state police are not accepted.
- Boston and Chicago specify the federal apostille (US Department of State), not a state apostille. That fits the FBI document, which is federal anyway.
Consulates generally expect a sworn Spanish translation of the FBI summary as well. For the 6-month timing and how to sequence it with the apostille, see our guide on how long an FBI background check stays valid for a Spain visa. For the apostille itself, our US apostille guide walks through the federal process.
What Stays the Same at Every Consulate?
The legal core is identical across all nine offices, because it comes from Spanish law, not local policy.
| Requirement | All 9 US consulates |
|---|---|
| Visa fee for US citizens | $190 (2026) |
| Passport | Valid at least 1 year, with two blank pages; several pages also reject passports issued more than 10 years ago |
| Photos | Visa-compliant photos (35×45mm), not the US 2×2 inch size, on a light background; attached to the form, never stapled (most pages say glued) |
| Decision period | 10 business days from submission, which can be extended if the consulate asks for more documents or an interview |
| Income | Based on 200% of Spain's minimum wage (SMI) |
On income, the consulate pages don't agree. Washington DC and Houston list €2,442 a month for 2026 (200% of the monthly SMI of €1,221). Spain pays the SMI in 14 installments a year, and averaging that over 12 months gives €2,849 a month. Boston and Chicago still show 2025 figures. When sources disagree on a threshold, we plan against the higher figure, €2,849. Our calculator runs the numbers with a spouse or children added.
If you are a W-2 employee, the Social Security side (a certificate of coverage or a responsible declaration) is a separate puzzle that consulates ask about. Our W-2 employee guide covers it.
Which Consulate Quirks Are Worth Knowing Before You Start?
Most differences are small, and a few save real time.
- Houston wants a notarized copy of your state ID, driver's license or student ID as proof you live in its area. Plain photocopies are not enough.
- Houston takes the application by mail, and Miami accepts mail as an alternative to in-person filing, so you can skip the waiting room. Mailing also means your passport travels by mail, so plan domestic trips around it.
- Boston reserves 1pm to 2pm on weekdays for document pickup only.
- Los Angeles publishes its telework visa instructions in Spanish, on a general consular services page. Google Translate helps, but double-check what it does to the word apostilla.
None of this changes what's waiting on the other side. It's the same visa whether you file from Houston or Honolulu, and a year from now your weekday lunch in Valencia may well stretch past an hour, because that's just how lunch works there. Once the visa is in your passport, our guide to your first steps after approval picks up where this one ends. If your spouse is coming, what the DNV means for their right to work is worth reading next.
Not sure which pathway fits your situation? Take the free assessment. It takes about five minutes, and it picks your consulate from your state or California county, so you're reading the right page from day one.
Ready to prepare your documents? We generate your visa application and NIE forms in your consulate's version, plus a checklist written for your consulate's submission route. That's the product. Start your free assessment →
Frequently Asked Questions
Is the Spain digital nomad visa fee the same at every US consulate?
Yes. US citizens pay $190 at all 9 consulates in 2026. How you pay varies: San Francisco takes cash or money order, Miami, Houston and Los Angeles ask for a money order made out to the consulate, and Washington DC's embassy page lists cash or money order. Check your consulate's page for the exact payee name before you buy one.
Which Spanish consulates let you file the NIE at the same time as the visa?
Los Angeles and San Juan. New York's current page also says to request the NIE with the visa, so confirm when you request your appointment. Washington DC, Boston, Chicago, Miami, Houston and San Francisco all say to get the NIE before applying for the visa.
Can you mail your Spain digital nomad visa application?
At some consulates. Houston takes the application by postal mail, and Miami accepts mail with a tracking number as an alternative to filing in person. San Francisco accepts tracked mail or walk-ins, Monday to Friday from 9am to 1pm. The other consulates want you there in person, and Washington DC's page sends applicants to the BLS center from September 1, 2026.
How far back does the criminal record check need to go at each consulate?
Washington DC, New York, Miami, Los Angeles and San Juan ask for certificates covering 2 years. Boston, Chicago, San Francisco and Houston ask for 5 years. All nine also ask for a sworn declaration of no criminal record for the last 5 years. For US residents, the certificate is the FBI Identity History Summary with an apostille, which most consulate pages name explicitly, and the pages that state a time limit say it must be issued within 6 months of submitting.
Which consulate handles California residents?
It depends on your county. Los Angeles covers 11 southern counties: Imperial, Inyo, Kern, Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara and Ventura. San Francisco covers the rest of the state.
Can you apply at a different consulate if yours has no appointments?
Generally no. Each consulate only accepts applications from people who legally live in its area, and asks for proof such as a state ID or driver's license. Americans who are already in Spain legally can instead apply for the telework residence permit inside Spain, with no consulate involved.
Disclaimer: This guide is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal or immigration advice. Requirements change frequently — always verify current requirements with the relevant consulate or a qualified immigration lawyer before applying.
Sources:
- Embassy of Spain in Washington DC, Consular Section, "Telework (Digital nomad) Visa," https://www.exteriores.gob.es/Consulados/washington/en/ServiciosConsulares/Paginas/Consular/Telework-visa.aspx
- Consulado General de España en Nueva York, "Visados Nacionales - Visado de residencia para teletrabajo (nómada digital)," https://www.exteriores.gob.es/Consulados/nuevayork/es/ServiciosConsulares/Paginas/index.aspx?scca=Visados&scco=Estados+Unidos&scd=215&scs=Visados+Nacionales+-+Visado+de+residencia+para+teletrabajo+%28n%C3%B3mada+digital%29
- Consulate General of Spain in Boston, "TeleWork-VISA," https://www.exteriores.gob.es/Consulados/boston/en/ServiciosConsulares/Paginas/Consular/TeleWork-VISA.aspx
- Consulate General of Spain in Chicago, "Telework Visa," https://www.exteriores.gob.es/Consulados/chicago/en/ServiciosConsulares/Paginas/Teleworkvisa.aspx
- Consulate General of Spain in Miami, "Telework Visa," https://www.exteriores.gob.es/Consulados/miami/en/ServiciosConsulares/Paginas/TELEWORK-VISA.aspx
- Consulate General of Spain in Houston, "Telework Visa (Digital Nomad Visa)," https://www.exteriores.gob.es/Consulados/houston/en/ServiciosConsulares/Paginas/Consular/TELEWORK-Visa-(Digital-Nomad-Visa)-.aspx
- Consulate General of Spain in San Francisco, "Telework Visa," https://www.exteriores.gob.es/Consulados/sanfrancisco/en/ServiciosConsulares/Paginas/Telework-visa.aspx
- Consulado General de España en Los Ángeles, "Visado de residencia para teletrabajo (nómada digital)," https://www.exteriores.gob.es/en/ServiciosAlCiudadano/Paginas/Servicios-consulares.aspx?scco=Estados+Unidos&scd=180&scca=Visados&scs=Visados+Nacionales+-+Visado+de+residencia+para+teletrabajo+(n%C3%B3mada+digital)
- Consulado General de España en San Juan de Puerto Rico, "Visado de residencia para teletrabajo (nómada digital)," https://www.exteriores.gob.es/Consulados/sanjuandepuertorico/es/ServiciosConsulares/Paginas/index.aspx?scca=Visados&scco=Puerto+Rico+(EEUU)&scd=253&scs=Visados+Nacionales+-+Visado+de+residencia+para+teletrabajo+(n%C3%B3mada+digital)
- Consulado General de España en San Juan de Puerto Rico, home page (jurisdiction and appointment system), https://www.exteriores.gob.es/Consulados/sanjuandepuertorico/es/Paginas/index.aspx